Hi, help needed.

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by redtiger, Mar 9, 2011.

1. redtiger

redtiger New Member

Hi,

Im new to the forum and saying hi. I have no IT experience or qualifications at the moment apart from a open university course I am doing at the moment and odd bits of knowledge I have gained. I want to learn a IT qualification with the hope of getting a IT support role in the future. I was going to try and learn the CompTIA or MCDST but the MCDST is becoming obsolete very soon so I cant do that now. So i was thinking that the first course / exam I do is the MS 70-680 Configuring Windows 7. Has any one got any advice on which course / exam to start with and suggested study material?. I have heard the MS book for the 70-680 has alot of errors in it does anyone know of a good alternative?.

Thanks.

2. NZ Kris

NZ Kris Nibble Poster

Hi mate, welcome to CF.

firstly the MCDST won't be obselete it will be retired. People will still be using windows XP and require desktop support for it. How ever unless you have a lot of time to commit to studying it maybe a little late to start that one now (but maybe you have plenty of spare time, prior knowledge?? you coulf possibly get it done).

I would start with A+ and N+ (actually i did start with those).

But as your question regarding the 70-680, in my opinion it does require a bit of previous knowledge and i wouldn't advise someone start with the 70-680. I have heard the vista client exam is a bit more entry level and most stuff applies to windows seven any ways i think its the 70-620.

I haven't actually done the 70-620 so perhaps someone who has can offer some advice :D.

Any ways welcome and good luck.

Certifications: A+ 2009, Network+, MCDST, MCTS, MCSA
    WIP: MCSA
  3. TheITCrowd

TheITCrowd Kilobyte Poster

Hi

Welcome to CF :D

The 70-680 is not an easy exam if you have limited knowledge and as you said the MS book is PANTS!