Hi everyone, please could someone offer any training advice?

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by katonskies, Mar 1, 2008.

1. katonskies

katonskies Bit Poster

Hi everyone,

Im new to this forum and was just wondering if anyone could offer any advice for the best training route to take to learn to become a web developer. Im currently studying the CIW courses to try to get a basic understanding but would like to progress into all the other required areas to become a web developer such as
    ASP.NET, C#, XHTML, javascript, XML etc. By any chance does anyone know of the best training route to take to achieve this?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks a lot

Tony

2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Hi and welcome to CF!

Once you have mastered the basics then constant practice, and extensive reading, are better than almost anything else.

Also build up a library of reference books. You will find that the O'Reilly books are usualy the best for this.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. harpistic

harpistic Byte Poster

Yep, books, practice and portfolio.

Certifications: Pet Geekery
    WIP: cure for insomnia
  4. neutralhills

neutralhills Kilobyte Poster

Avoid overpriced classroom training and boot camps. Nothing beats buying some good study material (or using free reference material on the Web) and then practice, practice, practice on your own.

I would recommend setting up a Linux boxen in your house with the LAMP stack and using it as your development platform. It doesn't have to be a powerful system by any means so an older discarded computer will probably do.

Certifications: Lots.
    WIP: Upgrading MS certs
  5. wizard

wizard Petabyte Poster

Hi there and welcome 8)

Certifications: SIA DS Licence
    WIP: A+ 2009
  6. katonskies

katonskies Bit Poster

OK thanks guys, I was considering doing one of the Microsoft certified courses such as the MCAD, would this be a wate of my time?