hi all!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by richeh, Nov 20, 2008.

1. richeh

richeh New Member

Hi, Decided to join the forum after reading through a few posts.

Well I am 20 and have decided to get into I.T. Ive almost finished an appreniship in maintenance fitting which I have been doing for the past 4 years.

I also have a passion for computers hence the career change. Before tonight I didnt have a clue what qualifications i needed, and what would suit my likings.

After a few searches on google I found a site called Seek Learning and rang their advisor up. After an hour on the phone I had a great idea and understanding on what courses I needed to do.

Basically Ive think im going for the A+, MCDST and then the MCSE. Now obviously Ive thought about self learning but I would have problem Keeping orgainised and motivated.

Anybody had experience of seek learning? For a package of A+ and MCDST the price is £1100 and can be done through finance with no interest. Is this reasonable price?

Also How hard is the A+ course and mcdst?

anyway sorry for the essay and thx:P

Certifications: None!
    WIP: A+ network +
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi & welcome to CF :)

As you have no real commerical experience, I would strongly recommend doing the A+, Network+ and the MCDST only and not anything higher under you get your foot in the door. IT Professional certifications are there to validate your job role and responsbilities and not to be used as a substitute for experience. Alot of IT Managers (myself included) are disregarding high level certs without the relevant experience - this is a growing trend.

The price is a bit high, but as they are a private training company their prices aren't as expensive as other training providers - however I would also recommend checking out your local college to see if they do those course, as normally they would be discounted/cheaper.