Hi all, needing advice

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Mike2074, May 20, 2006.

1. Mike2074

Mike2074 New Member

Hi all!

I am looking to get into a career in IT, preferably web design etc. I have recently had the computeach guy round, and thankfully, due to many bad reviews about computeach from forums, including this one, i have decied to reject them.
    I do however still want to pursue a career in IT but need some good solid advice on where to get training, who to avoid etc.

I work as an electrical/mechanical engineer now, working shifts so distance learning seems my only option.

Is it really feasable to get qualified, for example in CIW, and get into a well paid IT job (24k plus) without the practical experience? I started a CCNA course 5 years ago at college evening classes, but quit half way through after realising i had no chance of getting in at over the 24k mark without experience, is this the case with all IT roles?

looking forward to discussing things with you guys and listening to your advice.

Thanks!

Mike :biggrin

2. justlooking

justlooking New Member

Hi Mike, welcome to the forums.

Like you, i only managed to find negative ratings for computeach on the net, and rejected their course on that basis.

Don't give up looking around - best wishes for the future :biggrin

p.s let me know if you do find a decent & affordable dista :rolleyes: nce learning course

3. Malnomates

Malnomates Megabyte Poster

Welcome to CF.. 8)

Certifications: A+ Network+
  4. wizard

wizard Petabyte Poster

Hi there and welcome to CF :)

Certifications: SIA DS Licence
    WIP: A+ 2009
  5. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Hi and welcome to both of you! :biggrin

If you earn £24K or above in IT these days you are well paid. without proir experience you will have little chance of picking up that kind of money. I've been in IT for 9 years and I'm only getting close to that figure. A more realistic figure would be £14k.