Hi All! I have just got my first IT job...

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by fatp, Jan 26, 2008.

1. fatp

fatp Byte Poster

Hello to all the people at certforums!

I have just got my first IT job working as a IT Technician. This has been the hardest step for me as I took well over 10 interviews to get that far. My background is a degree in computer science and was wonderin what would be the best certification to work towards?

1) COMPTIA A+
    2) COMPTIA N+
    3) MCDST

Does any1 have any opinions out there and could point me in the right direction?

:p FAT P :D

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome :)

Good choice with the certs, you can do them all by self study so there is no need to pay a training provider.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

Congrats mate :biggrin

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  4. sunn

sunn Gigabyte Poster

Congrats on the 1st job...
    All 3 are good entry options depending what you want to do. Since your role is IT Technician I'd suggest A+.

5. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Those three are great... I'd suggest doing them in the order you listed them. :)

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  6. wizard

wizard Petabyte Poster

Congratulations 8)

Certifications: SIA DS Licence
    WIP: A+ 2009
  7. fatp

fatp Byte Poster

Hello again guys. thanks for the encouragement.