Hey Geeks

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by redcard, Feb 21, 2008.

1. redcard

redcard Bit Poster

I'm Stuart and I'm from Glasgow!

Anyway, thought I'd come here as I'm looking for some advice on career progression.

I'm currently out of work having been honoured with redundancy in January - can't complain too much, got a nice little pay off that helped clear the credit cards and the overdraft.

The thing is, I've never worked in IT. I have some pretty good user experience with Word, Excel and Publisher, I done a NT4 Server / Workstation course a few years back also. Most of my jobs have been in accountancy / admin. My last position was as an assistant manager in a hotel.

So, I'm sitting at home wondering what to do next. I've got hold of various training courses in Photoshop / Dreamweaver so I can teach myself some basics, as well as Office 2007 training courses.

Initially I'm going to go through the ECDL advanced course, then possibly onto MOS certification. There is also another course (EUCIP?) which is a progression of the ECDL programme, which I'm looking at

Anyone got any comments on my plans? What will actually lead to getting a decent IT position somewhere? I'm not looking for a great salary, maybe around £18K starting.
    Is there another way to land a decent starting position? I'm willing to spend 8 hours a day for the next few weeks teaching myself, but I'm just not sure what area to jump into.

Any advice much appreciated!

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome :)

Sounds like you have a good plan but to expect 18k on your first IT job is pushing it a bit. You could be lucky but you will probably start in whatever field you go into with 14k-16k to start with. If it its just admin work it could be lower unless you have experience.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  3. redcard

redcard Bit Poster