Hey All! Help needed!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by ukspeedster, Oct 23, 2006.

1. ukspeedster

ukspeedster Nibble Poster

Hey everyone.
    I just signed up to these forums and I was wondering if any of you could advise me on what I need to do next.
    I am an IT graduate with just over a years experience in an IT support engineer role and am really looking to go into Systems Analysis.

Would anyone be able to tell me the career path I need to take to become a Systems Analyst and what certifications would I need?

Heres what I was thinking - technical support role --> systems analysis

I was thinking of the A+ cert as an entry level qual to build up knowledge in the technical support role, then MCSE, and once I have the experience and knowledge, move onto Systems Analysis.
    Or could I go straight into Systems Analysis, if so what certifications would be suitable??

Thanks 8)

Certifications: BSc(Hons), ITIL, MCP
    WIP: MCSA 2003, CCNA
  2. Raffaz

Raffaz Kebab Lover Gold Member

Depends on how much experience you already have really. Jumping from A+ straight into MCSE might be a bit to ambitious, so doing something like MCDST beforehand might be a better option

Certifications: A+, MCP, MCDST, AutoCAD
    WIP: Rennovating my house
  3. ukspeedster

what certifications do you think I would need to eventually become a systems analyst?

4. simongrahamuk
    Honorary Member

simongrahamuk Hmmmmmmm?

Welcome to CF,

can I just ask you to define what a 'systems analyst' is? I saw a job once advertised as a systems analyst, it was working the helpdesk.

What to you think that the role should entail? to me it is just a title.

8)

5. ukspeedster

A systems/business analyst designs new IT solutions to improve business efficiency and productivity.