Help with DC (Active Directory) and DNS - Server 2003

Discussion in 'Windows Server 2003 / 2008 / 2012 / 2016' started by SolidSponge, Mar 16, 2007.

1. SolidSponge

SolidSponge Bit Poster

Hi guys.

I'm trying to set up a DC and DNS to use on my network. Problem I have is that I have a router that is acting as a DHCP server to assign IP's to all my clients. Now I know that DNS needs a static IP to function correctly so I need to disable the DHCP function in the router settings. My question is how do I know what IP addresses to assign to my server and clients (or just my server, because I'll eventually be setting up DHCP on there also)? I'm guessing that I'm limited to class C ip's as you can only change the last range of numbers of the Subnet Mask in the router.
    Sorry if I'm being stupid. I feel I should know this but I'm new to all this 290 stuff :biggrin

Certifications: A+, MCP (70-270)
    WIP: 70-290
  2. Modey

Modey Terabyte Poster

You will only need to disable the DHCP server on your router when you want to setup DHCP on your 2K3 server. Just assign a static IP to your 2K3 server and then set it up as a DC / DNS server. It won't care that there is a DHCP server on the same subnet.

The one thing you may have to do is tweak the scope that your router / dhcp server is using. That or reserve / exclude the address you intend to use for your DC.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCP, MCDST, MCSA 2K3, MCTS, MOS, MTA, MCT, MCITP:EDST7, MCSA W7, Citrix CCA, ITIL Foundation
    WIP: Nada
  3. SolidSponge

SolidSponge Bit Poster

Ah ok. So set my DC/DNS server to have a static IP, say 192.168.1.101 and take out that range in my router. I get it now.

Am I right in saying that the IP's assinged by my router are class C only?

4. Modey

Modey Terabyte Poster

Highly likely that they will be using a Class C Default subnet mask, yes (ie 255.255.255.0). I haven't seen a home router yet that didn't use a class C range / subnet mask.