Help needed

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by pc_dan, Feb 8, 2006.

1. pc_dan

pc_dan New Member

7i Hi I need help in deciding which home study course to take as i looked at a few im interested in the comptia A+ courses & been looking At the btec award course
    now i've applied to affordable training who say they can do me all five comptia courses for £300 & the btec is £300 with a pc deluxe kit so i get the hands on experience. though i have 4 years self taught hands on experience building & upgrading computers.but would like to gain a career in the it business repairing pcs as i enjoy doing this work. but affordable training are telling me that insurance companies wont touch me with the btec award.yet my local college is doing btec certification on all there computer courses so does that mean people doing degrees in the btec at college are wasting there time according to affordable training.now im just plain confused and if anyone has done a btec online course please give me some advice if its worth me doing that one
    Thanks
    P.S sorry if i posted in the wrong place

2. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Hi pc_dan.

personally I would go for the CompTia A+ and self study it. Buy the Mike Myres all in one book and save your money!!!

The A+ is globally recognised. Btec is a UK thing. You never know when you might want your qualifications to be recognised somewhere else on the globe. For example my five years worth of City & Guilds electronics qualifications don't mean a jot here. I would have to go back to college to be qualified to put a mains plug on.

Most IT companies dealing with PC repairs would look for A+

Pete

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  3. pc_dan

pc_dan New Member

thanks for the advice bluerinse deeply appreciated m8

4. Malnomates

Malnomates Megabyte Poster

Hi Dan.