Help Needed

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Come_On_You_Irons, Jul 3, 2006.

1. Come_On_You_Irons

Come_On_You_Irons Bit Poster

Hi all, I am currently studying A+ and then hope to go onto Network+. I am then hoping to move into a career in IT, but I have just seen a job advertised locally for helpdesk support analysts, and while I dont think I have the skills currently to get the position, I did see somewhere on here(cant find it now) where a guy applied for a position not having the skills and explained why he wanted the job, and it got him an interview. I have been wanting to work in IT for years but have never bit the bullit and done anything about it until now.

Has anyone got any advice for me?, or clues as to what the HR manager would like to hear?

PS this is a great site.

Certifications: A+, Network+, CCNA
    WIP: CCNP
  2. d-Faktor
    Honorary Member

d-Faktor R.I.P - gone but never forgotten.

well, if you know you haven't got the skills, then you can tell the hr manager that you are motivated, eager to learn, and blah. if you're in the process of getting certified, but are not completely there yet, you can still mention you're working on it, because it can show initiative and self-proficiency. there's also no shame to embellish the skills you do have a little bit, as long as you don't lie about it.
    there are several fine lines here, and going for a job that is out of your league can be a bit of a gamble. but sometimes you just have a lucky day.

3. Come_On_You_Irons

Come_On_You_Irons Bit Poster

Cheers d-Faktor, you have given me a few ideas there.

Certifications: A+, Network+, CCNA
    WIP: CCNP
  4. Boycie
    Honorary Member

Boycie Senior Beer Tester

Cant add anything that D hasn't already said.

Best of luck ,go for it :thumbleft

Certifications: MCSA 2003, MCDST, A+, N+, CTT+, MCT
  5. Baba O'Riley

Baba O'Riley Gigabyte Poster

I'd echo that sentiment, it worked for me!

Certifications: A+, Network+
    WIP: 70-270