HELP! Nearly sucked into TP trap! but now what can I do?

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by archie_056, May 11, 2009.

1. archie_056

archie_056 New Member

Hi,

First of all I would like to say thanks to the members of Certforums for their posts Re TP's and the MCSE certification. I myself was approached by Computrain and their "guaranteed job placement" and was told no previous experience in IT was necessary. I nearly parted with the best part of 3K to get me into the IT sector which i thought would be a good investment if they could hold their end of the bargain, and if it wasnt for the members of this forum and their insight then I would have probably committed myself to it!

I have no previous experience or qualifications in IT, but do have a genuine interest in this profession. I would really appreciate some advice on what is the best way to get my "foot in the door" in this sector, as i am currently on the understanding that I need experience, and that a qualification on its own will not enable me to become employed and begin the career i believe is well suited for me. I just feel like im stuck in a "catch 22"

I know i have the desire, motivation and keen interest to self study if required, but what coarses would anyone recommend for for a beginner in IT? and how would I be able to get the experience employers demand without already being employed in the industry?

Any advice would be very much appreciated because at the moment Im not sure where I need to begin???

Thanks

2. Gingerdave

Gingerdave Megabyte Poster

Welcome to the forums Archie, and congratulations on not falling for the marketing hype. Now a couple of questions 1) what d you want to do in the industry? and 2) how well do you study without supervision?

Certifications: A+,MCP, MCDST, VCP5 /VCP-DV 5, MCTS AD+ Net Inf 2008, MCSA 2008
    WIP: MCSA 2012
  3. archie_056

archie_056 New Member