help buliding+choosing pc parts

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mallet, Jul 1, 2007.

1. mallet

mallet Kilobyte Poster

This is my first time building a pc from scratch. And it would be helpful if anyone can help me out?
    heres the current list of PC parts:

Asus P5N32-E PLUS SLi nForce (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard

Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 "LGA775 Conroe" 2.33GHz (1333FSB) (not yet released)

Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro CPU Cooler (Socket 775)

BFG BFGR88320GTS OC2EI Graphics Card GeForce 8800 GTS - 320MBPCI
    or
    The Crucial Radeon X1900 XTX 512MB PCI Express? both just under £200 but which would be better and work with the motherboard selected?

Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 160GB ST3160815AS SATA-II 8MB Cache - OEM

Samsung SH-S203BEBN 20x20 DVD±RW Dual Layer Serial ATA ReWriter (Black) - OEM

Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty Pro Series -
    theres a gameport on the back, but I have no clue if it would work with my microsoft sidewinder non-usb: http://uk.europe.creative.com/products/product.asp?category=1&subcategory=208&product=15854
    even if it didnt, has anyone seen gameport to USB converters working?

Antec Nine Hundred Ultimate Gaming Case

OCZ GameXStream 700w Silent SLI Ready ATX2 Power Supply - can it cope with all the stuff mention above?

cruicial Ballistix tracer two set 1GB ram. Iam bit lost with the ram list I was givin at crucial, as it has two different types of the same ram, one says: DDR2 PC2-5300 NON-ECC and the other: DDR2 PC2-6400 NON-ECC

I know I have left the basic keyboard, mouse but what 15inch tft/lcd monitor should I consider getting under £180?
    I had a lcd in the past and has been rubbish, what kind of specs should I be looking for in a TFT/LCD monitor like Contrast Ratio or Response Time?