Hello

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Denver Maxwell, Sep 26, 2008.

1. Denver Maxwell

Denver Maxwell Nibble Poster

Hi-Yes im new
    Wonder how many people out there know me already? (scary thought) :)

Ive been looking around here for the last few weeks / months i guess as i am looking to actually do some certs.
    I may have a totally unrealistic view of what i wish to achieve also... (ive never took an MS exam for example)
    But i guess i will soon find out.

Anyway I’m an Admin that does first, second, and third line support as well as infrastructure, servers, AD, Exchange, Virtualisation, SAN, DR, Power, VPNs etc. well just about everything really on a 2k-2k3 multi site domain progressing to 2k8 very soon. (ive gone through a full virtual migration {multi site} many times).

However i am toying with going full out and going for MCITP Enterprise Administrator. And id like to do that in the next 9 months... (actually id like to do it in 7 days, but i actually wish to learn all the little bits as well!)

only thing i cant figure is am i really that mad to consider spending $$$$ and ZZZZ time on this?

Denver

Certifications: VMware VCP v5, GVF Level 3a, ITIL V3, Windows 2008 something or other...
    WIP: Prince 2? CCENT? mmm donno
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Welcome!

It's certainly possible! However, I'd recommend that you pursue the MCSE on 2003 first. Why?
    - First, the MCSE doesn't expire.
    - Second, most companies use Windows Server 2003 (there are even some that still use Windows 2000, though those exams have been retired).
    - Third, you can always upgrade your MCSE to the MCITP: EA; you can't "downgrade" your MCITP to the MCSE.
    - Finally, getting the MCSE on 2003 will make it look like you've "been around" longer... especially when the MCSE becomes retired and is no longer available.