Hello World

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Trugster, Apr 3, 2013.

1. Trugster

Trugster New Member

Hi everyone,

I'm based in London and looking to get started in an IT career.

I'm currently doing voluntary work as desktop support and I passed my CompTIA A+ in November.

I'm now studying for my Comptia Network+ and I'm hoping to do the exam at the end of this month.

After that I'm not sure which direction to take.

This is a great site and I'm pleased to have found it.

Thanks for reading and good luck to all of you.

Certifications: CompTIA A+
    WIP: Network +
  2. rocdamike

rocdamike Byte Poster Gold Member

Welcome to the forums!

I'm from London too and also trying to get started in an IT career, so I'm quite similar to you in some respects except that I have no experience whatsoever. I actually never thought about volunteering; how have you found it?

Are you looking to do Security+ after?

Last edited: Apr 3, 2013
    Certifications: F5 CTS, LTM | F5-CA | CCNA: Sec | CCNA: R&S | ITIL Foundation
    WIP: AWS Solutions Architect
  3. nXPLOSi

nXPLOSi Terabyte Poster

Welcome to CF! :)

Thread of Londoners so far! I started with the A+, N+ and Security+, they really gave me a good solid base on which to progress, so I do recommend that path.

Good luck with the Network+! 8)

Certifications: A+, Network+, Security+, MCSA 2003 (270, 290, 291), MCTS (640, 642), MCSA 2008
    WIP: MCSA 2012
  4. Trugster

Trugster New Member

Thanks for the welcome guys!

Volunteering is pretty good - getting actual hands on experience without the same pressure you might feel if you were in a paid position.

I volunteer at a small charity and I'm the only tech on the premises so I'm not learning as fast as I would be in a tech support department where there were people around I could ask for help - but it's still good.