Hello to all :-)

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by hibeenicol, Mar 20, 2013.

1. hibeenicol

hibeenicol New Member

Hi folks first post.

I'm just starting out in the IT world and threw myself in at the deep end but seem to be doing well and enjoying it all.

I've never worked in IT but done a small IT course at college 10 years ago but never went any further than that. I have learned basic skills myself but have decided nows the time to wise up and get some proper qualifications for myself.

I'm currently studying the CCNA course through the open university and also doing a PDA computer support course at the local college which is mainly learning Comptia A+ (this is the deep end I was talking about). The college is course is pretty much stuff I already know so taking it easy with that one, but the CCNA is tough and a lot to take in but I think I'm doing alright and I'm enjoying it.

I have also signed up for a HNC networking course at college for next year as I feel at the moment I don't have no qualifications of relevance to get a job in IT at the moment.

I'd be grateful of all advice that may come my way regarding the route I'm going down and if theres something else I should be looking at or something I should not be doing.

Thanks hibeenicol

WIP: CCNA, COMPTIA A+
  2. FreshenUp

FreshenUp Bit Poster

Welcome to the forum. :D

One bit of advice, do CompTIA A+ before anything else.

Certifications: A+, N+
    WIP: 70-680
  3. hibeenicol

hibeenicol New Member

Yeah I should be finished the CompTIA A+ before the summer so that'll be done first and my CCNA course finishes in October so hopefully sit the Exam before the year ends.
    Not sure about doing the college course though or trying to find an entry level IT job instead???

4. Sceritz

Sceritz Bit Poster