Hello there!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Larimani, Feb 22, 2011.

1. Larimani

Larimani New Member

I'm 30 years old living in Bristol. I graduated 4 years ago with a Psychology BSc and have been playing online poker since as sole source of income.
    It's been a fun few years but it's time for me to move on and get a real job. I've always been interested in computers and IT in general, had internet access since 1995 and have taught myself a lot (system builds, overclocking, watercooling, troubleshooting own computers and friends and family's, home networking and being active in computer forums, reading IT blogs etc)
    In a bid to get my foot in the door, I've passed A+ and Network+ exams (A+ was easy as i knew most of the material already, Network+ required a little bit of self-study).
    However, due to my lack of commercial experience and, i suspect, the stigma attached to being a professional poker player for so long I'm finding it difficult to get interviews. I've been applying for over 6 months and over 100 jobs and have only had one.
    To increase my chances further, I'm planning on sitting MCDST in the next couple of weeks.

I've attached my CV and would be grateful for advice on that or on anything else. Thank you.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Feb 22, 2011
  2. Larimani

Larimani New Member

[​IMG]

3. Consultant

Consultant Bit Poster

Firstly.. Welcome!!

I've got no idea what you've been applying for so you may be trying to hit above your weight, metaphorically speaking. I found during my career progression that the way into 1st, 2nd, and then 3rd line support, was via the helpdesk.