Hello & Some advice please!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by johnrt, Dec 6, 2007.

1. johnrt

johnrt New Member

Firstly, hello!

A little about me: I'm a retail store manager of 8 years, and have just about reached the top of the tree in my current area of the industry - there doesn't seem to be any opportunity to progress with my current company, and as we are quite unique in what we do, a move to another retailer would mean a step backwards. So a great time to think about something a little bit radical, and maybe a chance to do something which I enjoy - IT.

I have no formal IT qualifications, but have an undergraduate HND qualification. I have built my own PC's from scratch and have good experience of installing hardware and software and generally troubleshooting windows. I've also been tinkering around with Linux (quite successfully) in the past few months too.

I've had a poke around the forums and various web pages, and I'm considering a self taught MCDST qualification to start with.

The most important thing is that I have plenty of time, I have a secure job for the foreseeable future, and can take my time over the training process. My only restriction is that I can't afford a drop in income - currently earning 24k. What sort of level would I need to qualify to to ensure I can at least match my current earnings?

Anyway - that was rather a long post to start with - any other advise that anyone has would be very gratefully received.

Cheers.

2. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

Hi Welcome

Firstly I am sorry to say you will not match your current earnings by starting a career in IT regardless of certification you get. You will be lucky to get 18k.

Second you should start with compTIA A+ the N+ then go for the MCDST they are the standard entry level certs, you can do these by self study, so there is no need to do a course to ontain these certs.

Good luck in whatever you do.