Hello / need advice.

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by ITwannabe, Sep 2, 2007.

1. ITwannabe

ITwannabe New Member

Hello everyone :D

Great all round advices.

I graduated in 2000 with Bsc in Business&Computing, but since then i only worked in retail with the same company. Don't ask me why i put up with that. It is a long and painful story.
    Anyway, recently our company has been doing lots of upgrade to its systems, so they needed someone to help in 2nd line Tech. Support, and i was chosen for that role.
    Now, i have been doing the job for 3 months, and they extended my contract for another 2 months. The Salary jump is incredible. Almost 2.5 times.
    I have also met the people on 1st line, and i believe i can do the job.
    So, i am planning to apply for 1st line support once i am done.
    To increase my chances i am going to self study for MCP.
    I am 36 years old, and have been in this country 10 years, so my previous job history won't count for much.

My first question would be, how long do you think i need to pass MCP?
    And do you think i have realistic chance to get into IT?

Thanks in advance for replies :)

WIP: 70-270
  2. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

Hello and Welcome to the forums.

I think you have just as much of chance of getting into IT as someone who is 10 years or more younger then you are. You have the education in computing so I dont see why you cant be qualified. As long as you are persistent then you can achieve the opportunity to work in IT.

To be honest studying for MCP is different for every individual. Some people learn the material faster then others, or some already have the experience in computing so to them its easy, others its hard. It all goes down to how badly you want the certification and what are you willing to do to achieve it.