Hello Guys - Would like some advice please

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Jas0n, Feb 15, 2008.

1. Jas0n

Jas0n New Member

Hi Guys,

I'm currently working for a small IT company building, repairing and upgrading computers and laptops. Other duties are providing support to end users and to a few companies we have contracts with (on-site and telephone based). I've been working for this company for a few years now part time while doing my other studies.

I've currently done a lot of schooling geared towards Graphic Design however I would like to go into IT as I believe I'm best suited for it. Here is just a quick list of my most recent qualifications.

FdA Graphic Design

A Levels
    Graphic Design
    Law
    AS Levels
    ICT
    Photography

As you can see the only IT related qualifications I have is an AS Level in ICT and ECDL under my belt. As I have just finished studying for my FdA I would like to gain more IT related qualifications.

Since 2005 I have been a company directer of a UK limited internet based company providing dedicated servers and colocation. Just a few duties of my duties:
    • Building rack mount/ATX styled servers
    • Installing/Maintaining servers in our rack in London
    • Monitoring our servers, switches and colocated equipment via Nagios
    • Providing support to customers
    • Company accounts, maintaining company website etc...

Pretty much everything lol!

Where would be the best place for me to start? I'm not shy of hard work so hit me! :onthePC

Thanks very much for your time,
    Jase

2. Notes_Bloke

Notes_Bloke Terabyte Poster

HI & welcome to CF:D

A good starting point for you would be the CompTIA A+ certification followed by Network+. Both of these can be achieved using self study methods. The recommended books for the A+ are Mike Meyer's All in One book and James Pyles Technician Street Smarts book.

Hope this helps and good luck with the studying.

NB