Hello Forum u wise old lot! - Part 2

Discussion in 'CIW Certifications' started by Vik777, Mar 1, 2007.

1. Vik777

Vik777 New Member

Hey everyone

So I'm new to the forum and need some advice/pointers/opinions on how to become a Web Designer.

I've been reading thru a few of the posts on the forum and have already learnt so much. My background is actually working in DVD QA, so I'm very familiar with multimedia design and aspects of programming/authoring. I've a good eye for design and I'm competent with plenty of programs such as Avid, Adobe Photoshop, Premiere, encoding softwares, etc - but I couldn't write a program or even start to build a website for love nor money!

I've spoken to Computeach - a rep came round yesterday and tried to sell me a Web Designer course for an ENORMOUS amount of money, £5000 +. I don't have this money so thats out the window!

I've also realised that I don't need to pay an extortionate amount of money for training/distance learning when with a great deal of effort, determination and hard work (and guidance from my new forum friends :D ) I can do things myself.

So what is the best route for a beginner? My ultimate aim is to be proficient in Flash, Dreamweaver and the like, even get to the point where I'm a qualified CIW Web Designer/Master. But I dont want to run before I can walk, and I know theres a long hard road ahead to get there.

Do I need to start out learning HTML? What books / online courses are the best for doing this? Can I get certification to prove I have accomplished skills and so it looks good on the CV too.

What else do I need to know? Do I need Microsoft certification for certain things.

I've also looked at CIW courses, but how effective are they and at what stage should I be considering taking them.

Any guides, pointers, help, anything at all would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your help in advance, and sorry for the long 1st post pals... :biggrin

Cheers,
    Vik

2. Stoney

Stoney Megabyte Poster