Hello everyone!!

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by paulwatson5, Sep 29, 2009.

1. paulwatson5

paulwatson5 Byte Poster

Hi guys.
    First post on here and im quite excited to be a part of such a great forum.
    I have been reading certforums for a few weeks now and it has made me more determined than ever to do my exams!!
    I build and work on computers when ever i get the chance but i really want a career in computers.
    I'm 27 and from Newcastle in England, i have been working as a Civil Servant (Office Admin Job) for about 10 years and im totoally fed up. I'm hoping that all is not lost and im not too old for this!
    I plan to start my exams in about a year as im on a very tight budget for this.
    I really want to do it but i have just got married and just found out my wife is pregnant so i dont have much money to spend at the minute.
    Over the next year i want to get myself clued up on what i need to know etc and im basically on the look out for cheap books that will help me along the way.
    I would be very interested if anyone has any books for sale that will help me with MSDST and MCSE exams.
    Also, i feel that i need to learn server 2003 before i start so if anyone has a copy of Server 2003 for dummies, let me know please!! I know its for "Dummies" but i may as well start at the bottom and try to learn the lot!!.
    I have a spare pc setup at home with Server 2003 on it so im practicing most nights, mainly setting it up as a file server, FTP server and doing some home web hosting etc.

Anyway, hello everyone and any adivce and tips are much appreciated!! Thanks!!

Certifications: CompTIA A+ (220-701 & 220-702)
    WIP: CompTIA Network +
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Welcome!