Hello everyone

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Dave, Apr 23, 2009.

1. Dave

Dave Bit Poster

Hi all,

My name is Dave and I've just recently joined the forum.

I have worked for some 13 years as a manager in the Digital Print industry and, after being made redundant twice last year, have decided to finally stop harping on about it and pursue a career within the IT industry.

My background is originally in Electronic Engineering, it's a very long and rather boring story of how I ended up in the Print industry. When studying for my HND in Electronic Engineering some 16'ish years ago we brushed upon IT (albeit 486's & DX2's) and I found that I had a genuine interest but never pursued it. With the events of last year, and my lady getting tired of me going on about it, I decided to take the plunge and go for it.

I signed up for the CompTIA A+ in February this year and I'm glad to say, passed both exams with flying colours (A+ Certified IT Technician). With that under my belt I started my MCSE course yesterday evening and, along with the 7 books (which resemble telephone directories in thickness), have started down what I presume to be a very lengthy road to Microsoft Certification.

Well, just a quick few lines to introduce myself to everyone and any advice that anyone can throw my way about my chosen path would be greatly appreciated, as I have zero commercial experience within the IT industry to date :eek:

Certifications: A+, N+, Sec+, MCP, MCDST, MCTA
    WIP: 70-290 & Linux+
  2. Kitkatninja
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Kitkatninja aka me, myself & I Moderator

Hi & welcome to CF, glad you joined :)

To be honest I would have recommended strongly to forget about the MCSE until you gain some real world experience.

-Ken

Certifications: MSc, PGDip, PGCert, BSc, HNC, LCGI, MBCS CITP, MCP, MCSA, MCSE, MCE, A+, N+, S+, Server+
    WIP: MSc Cyber Security
  3. nXPLOSi

nXPLOSi Terabyte Poster

Welcome to CF..!