Hello-didley

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Greendan, Apr 16, 2008.

1. Greendan

Greendan New Member

Hi All,

New User here. Been reading the forums for a couple of days so thought I'd say hi.

Hi.

I'm one of those 'aiming for a career in IT types'. My current experience in professional IT is low. Erm...none.

My current plan is to aim to do a degree (possibly Computing with Psychological Studies) with the OU, maybe get a foot in the door of a company on help desk suppport (I have plenty of call centre experience - too much!) and then fingers crossed work my way up. I'm more interested in programming than hardware. I've done a bit of 'hobby' programming waaaay back starting on a Spectrum ZX (Yay for BASIC) and a few years later got to VB via QBASIC. I did a little bit of C++.

So, yeah, thats the Plan, I'm Dan. Hello.

2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

Hi and welcome to CF!

Perhaps I'm old fashioned, but a computing degree and then doing help-desk work, when you want to be a programmer seems slightly odd to me!

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. Greendan

Greendan New Member

I see where you're coming from! The help desk thing is just a way of getting in the door whilst I'm doing the degree, getting real life experience, then working my way up the career ladder.

4. hbroomhall

That makes sense! And you possibly left out the most important bit about doing a help-desk job - paying the rent! :p

Harry.

5. sunn

sunn Gigabyte Poster

Welcome to the forums...

6. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

If you're interested in programming, learn to program. Entry-level programmers (at least in the US) make a LOT more money than a help desk tech does, and they're currently in demand (again, at least in the US).

That said, there is wisdom in paying the bills while learning how to program. :)