Hello and where to start.....

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Percula, Oct 29, 2005.

1. Percula

Percula Bit Poster

Hi

Been lurking for a while and have found the site very, very useful. Rare to find an internet forum where the users aren't more concerned with flaming than having constructive dialogue. Congrats!

Anyway, am looking for a career change. 29, single and living in Surrey near Gatwick. Which is nice.

Currently employed (> 5yrs) in a small (12 people) manufacturing and service company. Commercial Manager, Project Manager or that SOB depending on the day of the week. Essentially #2 to the MD. Responsible for running the production facility, purchasing, design work, r&d, network administrator, tea and coffee..... Nicelyish paid, but low on the satisfaction I’m looking for.

Have been away from any formal education since leaving school with 3 A-levels. Everything I know since then is life experience and stuff I've picked up / self taught along the way.

IT experience is self taught, nothing formal. I've a good 'business' grounding and I'm now looking for something that can take me forwards and offer new opportunities. I've long been interested in computers, indeed probably a lost opportunity. Everyone always used to say to me when I was a kid that I'd end up in computers and make loads of money. Trouble was at 15 I got a weekend job and just continued in that industry down the road to the job I'm at now…..