Hello and info on Scheidegger/SkillsTrain

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Gullible, Nov 6, 2005.

1. Gullible

Gullible New Member

Hello all,
    I found this forum after looking up Scheidegger/SkillsTrain. I signed up for a CIW Website Design Manager course with them yesterday. I have no IT experience apart from ECDL.

After reading through a few of the queries that have been posted here, I would just like to add a couple of thoughts if that's ok :D

I am cancelling on Monday because....

The sales person promised unrealistic earnings potential - £30-£60K without any hint that these figures are achievable but ONLY for experienced/highly qualified/talented designers. Not for a novice who takes a course - no matter how motivated or talented they may be.

It seems to me that the company target and sign up naive people who have no real IT experience or knowledge - I would be interested to hear from any IT professionals who use their courses? - it was only after putting some thought into it that I realised that learning alone, unable to establish contacts within the industry, is probably the worst way to go. The sales bumpf boasts that SkillsTrain are contracted to train NHS and HSBC (amongst others) staff. This seems like an excellent recommendation but is it really relevant for individuals who are looking to break into IT at a high level? After all, the training which they provide for these organisations is ECDL and below - not comparable at all and so a misleading sales pitch.

A final note. After signing the contract, the wannabee high earner has SEVEN days to cancel - not twenty-one, so be quick :eek:

I'd really love to get into IT and am busy looking around for a cheaper and more flexible way to do it.

Certifications: None yet
  2. moominboy

moominboy Gigabyte Poster