Hello all

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by deoglover, Feb 10, 2007.

1. deoglover

deoglover New Member

I am a new member and am very happy to join the forum. I am studying towards my MCDST.

DjCool

2. wizard

wizard Petabyte Poster

Hi there and welcome 8)

Certifications: SIA DS Licence
    WIP: A+ 2009
  3. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Welcome to CF mate 8)

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  4. deoglover

deoglover New Member

Can any one who has done this exam(MCDST), advice on what study materials / things to do, to pass my exams the first time?

DjCool

5. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Firstly, there are *two* exams check this out..

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/mcdst/requirements.mspx

Secondly, they are not too tough and as long as you get plenty of hands on with XP and Office as well as a good book or two, you should have no problems. There aren't any shortcuts to getting qualified, you have to learn the material that is covered in the topics of each exam.

See here for the topics covered in 70-271..

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/exams/70-271.mspx

You can find the relevant info for the other exam in the same area of Microsoft's site.
    Pete

6. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Welcome!

I generally recommend Microsoft Press and Sybex books for Microsoft exams. Best of luck to you!

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  7. s0methingwkd

s0methingwkd Bit Poster

There is no sure shot technique of passing exams - it comes from a combination of things really.