Hello all - help needed

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by JAM35, Jun 2, 2010.

1. JAM35

JAM35 New Member

Hello all, apologies for the long post but i had a look round the forum and its seems full of good advice so here goes.

some background..

After leaving school with no qualifications (and then wasting a few years after!) I was a late starter in terms of ambition. I started a very basic computer hardware course at college which led to a job in a computer shop building and reparing pc's where i stayed for a year. Since then i have over 2 years helpdesk experience mainly supporting epos systems in a microsoft enviroment. I am currently working for a software company supporting there own epos software. I have a basic working knowledge of networking but this is mainly trial and error not something i can confidently put on my c.v.

Given the increasing competion for jobs these days i am very aware i am rocking around at the bottom of the pile with nothing to validate my experience. I would really like to move away from epos support into a desktop support role eventually moving into a sytems administrator position. I have been looking at MCTS going on to MCITP - Server administrator, perhaps starting with the 70-680 and 70-640 exams. I have to say the whole process is enough to make you dizzy with so many routes to choose from and ways of studying. I am coming to the conclusion that books and test exams are the way forward as most training providers i have looked into are either insanely expensive (£2500 for a+, N+) or have bad reviews for out of date materials.