Has Prometric made the exams harder?

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Rockstar, Feb 7, 2008.

1. Rockstar

Rockstar Bit Poster

I hear prometric has a higher percentage of people failing their exams then vue did...did prometric rewrite the exams and make them thougher?

Just wondering...thx!

:whatthink

Certifications: A+, Net+, MCP - 70-290, 70-270
    WIP: need to get 70-291 - to get MCSA!
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

I work in IT certification training, and this is the first I've heard of this "urban legend".

Prometric does not write the exams; the vendors (Microsoft, CompTIA, etc.) do. Prometric only delivers the test using their software engine at testing centers they authorize as "Prometric test centers". Thus, it is not logical to believe that Microsoft going solely with Prometric would cause more people to fail exams... nor would Cisco going solely with VUE cause more people to pass exams.

There's really no mystery or conspiracy to figure out; if you know the material, you will pass... if you don't, you will fail.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. JonnyMX

JonnyMX Petabyte Poster

I hadn't heard that one either.

However, every now and then beta questions slip into exams, suggesting that the content is updated or reviewed from time to time.

Knowing MS's love for crunching stats, I wouldn't be surprised if they tweak exams from time to time to try and keep the pass rate consistant, e.g. not too easy and not too hard.
    While they want everyone in the world to be MS certified and using MS technology, ultimately if everyone got an MCSE it would devalue the cert.

On the other hand, I wouldn't be surprised if they didn't bother...