Hard Drive "Cable Creep"???

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Neil, Nov 12, 2007.

1. Neil

Neil Byte Poster

Hi guys,

Yet another Hard Drive problem. Usually when I'm studying, I use the e-book (in this case Sybex) and I have a Word doc open so that I can make personal notes at the same time on what I'm studying, and print at a later date to review before I go and write the exam (I urge you all to do this when you study! :thumbleft)

Anyways that wasn't necessary, but here's the problem. A few minutes ago while I was studying like that, I copied a line from the ebook and pasted it in Word. When that happened, the screen, my mouse and everything freezed and the hdd light stayed on. A few seconds later, my system restarted and said Boot from CD/DVD........No Boot Device Present. Well I popped in my XP cd and it installed the necessary startup drivers and then I rebooted and the same message came up.

Well this is the third time this problem happened to me. The last time it happened when I was using Photoshop and when I unplugged the IDE cable and plugged it back in and rebooted, the system started up just like normal. So I decided to try it here again and it worked. So I'm guessing that this is the cable version of the infamous "Chip Creep".

My questions are:
    1] Since this problem can be remedied by plugging in and out the cable, is this a SERIOUS problem to worry about? (I'm not really worried, but since this is the 3rd time it happened within 2 months, then I'm very concerned)

2] Since the HDD wasn't making any loud/clicking/scratching sounds, could this problem lead to disk failure later on? Is it a sign of disk failure?

Anyways, back to studying for now. :onthePC

Certifications: CompTIA A+ & Network+
    WIP: MCSA: 70-270
  2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

I'd say there was a hardware error of *some* sort - but it may not be quite what you think.