Hands on IT Support Jobs

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by ComputerUser777, Nov 26, 2009.

1. ComputerUser777

ComputerUser777 New Member

Hello,

I have recently left my job as a Service Desk Analyst (1st Line) which was working for a major food retailer.
    It was getting boring as it wasn't varied and it was just answering the phone all the time.

I have uploaded my CV to Monster, Total Jobs and Jobsite and all I have been getting is recruitment agencies phoning me up offering 1st Line Support vacancies.
    Since changing my CV to say that I do not want 1st line jobs but more hands on IT issues (i.e. fixing problems at user's desk, general system administration - backups, installations for example), I have had no calls :(
    I don't have any problems communicating over the phone, I just prefer more of a face to face role.

I have a BSc in Computer Science and do have programming skills but not commercially.
    I did go for an interview for an IT Support Role/Programming role (which they would train you up on) but unfortunatly I did not get it.
    The job I am after is more of an IT Technician/Adminstrator type of position but I cant seem to find many of these.
    Of the ones I can find, most want x years of experience.

I couldnt stand going back to a 1st line support role, being in a call centre where the management are completly obsessed with call statistics and walking round all day telling you to watch your call times.
    And always having to ask when you want to leave your desk!!!!

I am now 5 weeks out of works which along with other employment gaps this year, does not look good on my CV.

What is the best way of getting in to the type of job that I want to do?

Thanks

2. dalsoth

dalsoth Kilobyte Poster