Had an interview...

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by Jubei_Jedi, Oct 16, 2008.

1. Jubei_Jedi

Jubei_Jedi Bit Poster

First off let me say that I have never worked in an I.T role before and have been studying the AIO book now for the last 6 weeks. Have also set up the end of the month to do my exams which i am pretty confidant in getting as I have been doing really well on all the practice tests and so forth, and through the advice I have read on here I have been sending out my C.V to various recruitment places looking for work.

Now knowing that I don't have any " hands on " experience I am obviously getting very little interst in my C.V

But...yesterday I get a call from a recruitment place saying that a company is very interested to see me as they only require someone who has very good customer service skills ( which i have 8 years experience i might add) and that only a very basic knowledge of xp and office is required for a 1st line role and all training will be given. So I think this is an awesome opportunity.

Anyway, went to the interview and what a disaster! The helpdesk manager who interviewed me asked if I had seen the role and what knowledge I had. He then looks at my C.V where I have listed that I am currently in study for the A+ and then looking forward to doing the N+ and he tells me he has never even heard of these certifications before so they are irrelevant!! I am like WTF!!

After that the only question he asks me is if I have any experience in A.D and when I tell him I have just touched on that but have never used it in a "real world environment" because i don't have any experience and that is the whole reason I am looking for an entry level position, he starts ranting on about learning MCSA/MCSE for any real chance of getting into I.T

Now this is quite the contradiction from all people I have spoken to and read regarding getting my foot in the door.