Group Policy in Longhorn

Discussion in 'Software' started by noelg24, May 7, 2007.

1. noelg24

noelg24 Terabyte Poster

I have installed Longhorn on Virtual PC (and may I say its really good). I have created a domain along with AD and DNS. But now I am trying to create a user and when I enter the password and go to click finish, it tells me the password does not meet the requirements.

I have added the GPO but I am unable to edit anything within it. Furthermore in AD itself, when I go to the properties of the domain, it doesnt have the Group Policy tab therefore I can do nothing.

Does anyone know of a way to a. change the number of characters needed for a password, b. how to get the group policies enabled and c. well just get this thing working.

This is my very first attempt at creating a domain and using a server operating system. What I will say is, I have been RDPing to the server from my machine and boy it rocks :biggrin

Thanks in advance...if I have missed anything out please ask...now im going to kick my flatmate out of my bed so I can sleep in it (havent been to bed yet!!!)

Certifications: A+
    WIP: my life
  2. UCHEEKYMONKEY
    Honorary Member

UCHEEKYMONKEY R.I.P - gone but never forgotten. Gold Member

Hmm not sure about Virtual PC, I found that VMWare had more flexiability than Virtual PC. :blink

What settings did you use when you setup the virtual environment?

Also have you seen this website??

What works and What doesn't work on Virtual PC

Certifications: Comptia A+
    WIP: Comptia N+
  3. UCHEEKYMONKEY
    Honorary Member

UCHEEKYMONKEY R.I.P - gone but never forgotten. Gold Member

Which version of longhorn are you using and what are the specs of your PC?

Certifications: Comptia A+
    WIP: Comptia N+
  4. Mr.Cheeks

Mr.Cheeks 1st ever Gold Member! Gold Member

Password Complexity never used Longhorn, but in win2k3 its changed int domain secuirty settings

5. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award