Good afternoon everyone (I'm trying to paraphrase Hello All)

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Ergath, Jun 3, 2009.

1. Ergath

Ergath Bit Poster

Hello to all, I signed up earlier today and I've been posting here and there so it's probably polite if I introduce myself.

I've no career background in IT other than as a hobbyist and enthusiast, and for the last couple of years, as a part-time repair guy and builder of home systems. I work in Regeneration for a city council, but I had a "Road to Damascus" moment a few months back, and realised that the only parts of my day job that I actually enjoy are IT related - including a lot of what amounts to 1st/2nd line support for colleagues. For better or for worse I decided to jump in at the deep end and signed up for an MCSA package, on the basis that it might or might not allow me to change career, but in any case it'd be interesting.

The good news is that I'm enjoying it immensely, and managed to pass 70-270 on Monday. I've started looking at 70-290 and 70-291 and am finding it fascinating - I work in a huge enterprise environment, but I'd only a hazy idea about large networks, servers etc. (except for my little WHS at home) so it's really satisfying to be filling in the gaps. It looks like I'd do well to set up a test domain to get some practical experience of Server 2003, so my creaky old Athlon 3000+ might have to be temporarily reassigned :)

I've not chosen an elective yet, but I need to make my mind up soon if I'm going to get it passed before my course expires next Feb. I'm considering Exchange, or maybe Vista, although I get the impression that a lot of firms will skip over Vista and wait for Win7 - perhaps I'm reading the wrong articles though (in the same way that I was wrong about 70-291 not looking too hard :rolleyes: ).

Anyway, nice to be here, I'm very impressed by all the resources and knowledge sloshing around - I'm sure I'll be visiting often.