Getting into IT from scratch ... where to start?

Discussion in 'Employment & Jobs' started by psybience, Sep 11, 2014.

1. psybience

psybience New Member

Hi Everyone,

I have been working as a secondary school mathematics teacher for the past 5 years but have decided recently that I don't want to continue with the profession. It's a difficult decision but I've thought long and hard about it and feel that it's the right time, especially as I'm 29 and not getting any younger. In any case I've always had an interest in computers, use the things everyday, have always built my own rigs, configured software, operating systems, networks, etc. All basic stuff I know, but I genuinely enjoy doing it. I don't have any actual work experience though. My degree is in mathematics and whilst I enjoy the subject, I do regret not getting into computing when I had the chance. :(

In any case I'm currently doing supply teaching which frees up a lot of time, allowing me to pursue this career change. I've been using my free time to read about the IT industry at large, how the job market is structured and whats available, what certifications I need etc. I've begun studying for the CompTIA A+ cert as a starting point and about 1 month in. I'm finding very straight forward and familiar and have no issues self-studying from a book. Just to get my head around job applications, I've applied to some positions (about 30 so far) and got zero replies as expected.