Getting back into IT

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by vannnnnn, Apr 28, 2010.

1. vannnnnn

vannnnnn New Member

Hi Everyone! Just a little intro. I worked in IT about 9 years ago for a non-profit. Did really well there and was on my way to certification land, but a divorce derailed my plans. Ended up moving to Japan and have been teaching English for the past 6 years. Got remarried and now looking to move back to the States and start my IT career over.

I'm mechanically inclined and have been building/overclocking PCs as a hobby since 1998. So, all my IT skills are self-taught aside from an A+ cert in 2001 (probably not valid anymore). I'd like to get back into Desktop support doing installs, repairs, upgrades, software training, backups, and the like. All of this probably on Microsoft run hardware.

My question and reason for joining this forum is mainly to find out what my next steps might be. I was thinking about updating my A+ cert, but also mulling around the idea of an MCDST. Does anyone have any suggestions? I love fixing computers and helping people with their computer problems, but not sure what I should do next.

Last edited: Apr 28, 2010
  2. kevicho

kevicho Gigabyte Poster

The A+ certification doesnt expire, but the technologies in that exam will mostly be obsolete, so if you want to update the knowledge it may be worth going through an up to date course/book and then doing the exam at your descretion.

The MCDST is a good place to start with Microsoft, XP is still widely used so is worth doing, but there are equivalents for Vista (Enterprise Support Technician) and Windows 7 (Enterprise Desktop Support Technician) if you are lucky enough to secure work then obviously concentrate on the technology you will be supporting, but I would start with the MCDST then the EDST to give you a wider range of credentials.

Certifications: A+, Net+, MCSA Server 2003, 2008, Windows XP & 7 , ITIL V3 Foundation
    WIP: CCNA Renewal
  3. JK2447