Getting a job with an MCDST

Discussion in 'MCDST' started by Badboy_7, Aug 3, 2007.

1. Badboy_7

Badboy_7 New Member

Hi, I'm looking for advice on wether or not this would be the right cert for me to do and what chance it would give me to get an entry level job, for example working in a helpdesk or something similar.
    I know i would love doing this type of stuff...but i just do not want to waste a lot of money on something that wont even get me a job after finishing it, of course i have no experience either, but surely a cert would count for something??? Or would a MCDST plus something else enhance my chances? Or will it alone be enough just to get my foot in the door? I'm not exactly looking for big bucks or anything like that, just a job that i would enjoy doing.
    Any help/advice or suggestions for a different cert would be greatly welcome,
    Thanks for taking the time to read this. :)

Badboy

2. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

Greetings, Badboy. Welcome to CertForums.

Rarely will a certification and no experience get you a job. Certifications are supposed to declare the level of knowledge and experience already possessed by the certification holder.

That said, you might get more mileage out of getting an A+ first and then a Network+ before moving to the MCDST...especially if you have no technical background. Just about every employer has heard of the A+ and understands what it represents. It's an entry-level cert and one generally well respected.

Get a copy of the most recent edition (6th, I think) of Mike Meyer's book: http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos...2933/sr=2-1/ref=sr_2_27_1/026-9551759-8545239.

That, and a few older PCs to work on and if you have any aptitude at all, you should be well on your way. Also, you'll want to check out CompTIA's A+ page and learn more about what's required:

http://certification.comptia.org/a/default.aspx

Just my humble opinion. :wink:

-Trip

Certifications: A+ and Network+