Generic "Hello" Message

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by The Zig, Jul 30, 2008.

1. The Zig

The Zig Kilobyte Poster

Hey all,
    Just a late hello to everyone here to introduce myself.
    Hello! On-line, I'm Zig. I'm a guy, in my twenties. To be honest, late twenties. Depressingly late. I like computers (well, duh!), martial arts, writing and languages. I'm currently a teacher (teaching adults).

A while back I studied Electronic Engineering at a pretty good (top 10) UK Uni, and I passed. Wha-hoo!On the downside, the course put me off the subject for the best part of a decade. In retrospect, I think it's fair to say that the over-theoretical handling, combined with the genuis-in-their-field-but-utterly-lacking-teaching/communication-skills-or-charisma lecturers killed the subject for me. I could do all the maths I needed to pass the exams, but a lot of the time I had no idea what it was for, or how I could turn it into hardware.

In the year or so after Uni I went through a few jobs, including the most glamorous job known to man: software salesman! (Me and Leisure Suit Larry - we're like that!) Finally, I landed in a branch of Siemens doing some very basic IT/database stuff. It was good for a while - with nice co-workers - but it was one of those backwater branches that avoids offering any kind of career advancement for fear that people will start wanting a proper paycheck. I rose to be one of the 2 key team trainers, getting a grand total of NO extra pay for my efforts! From that career cul-de-sac, I went into teaching.