General MCSE advice

Discussion in 'General Microsoft Certifications' started by Guy101, Jan 28, 2010.

1. Guy101

Guy101 New Member

Hello All,
    Im hoping someone can give me allittle advice (push) in the right direction. I graduated from Uni doing Computer Science in 2008, im currently just doing a admin job and want to get into a networking support job, but everything im looking for is asking for Microsoft Certified with experience. im gaining the experience where i am because im the network officer for my department aswell as doing my own case work, but i need MC. So the advice im looking for is:-

would it be best to go for the MCSE for my first qualification? or MCSA or something else?? im thinking MCSE because its got all the MCSA modules and more.

To keep the cost down (I aint got too much cash). is there websites, books, etc which you can suggest for me to learn myself, instead of taking courses online or in classes which costs big money and take the exams seperatley? also im not too sure how much each exams costs?

I see a look of books out there (nutshell, etc) but Im not sure what one would be best. Im hoping theres one out there which is good, covers all the modules and aint too costly. or am I asking for too much. :biggrin

One last thing, just to make sure im clear on how i can be MCSE, would I be right in thinking:-

Taken from the Microsoft Certification Road Map,

least 1 x Client, 4 x Core and 1 x Design

70-270 - Installing, Configuring, and Administering Microsoft Windows XP Professional (MCSA/MCSE)

70-290 – Managing and Maintaining a Windows Server 2003 Environment (MCSA/MCSE)
    70-291 – Implementing, and Maintaining a Windows Server 2003 Network Infrastructure (MCSA/MCSE)
    70-293 - Planning and Maintaining a Windows Server 2003 Network Infrastructure (MCSA/MCSE)
    70-294 - Planning, Implementing, and Maintaining a Windows Server 2003 Active Directory Infrastructure (MCSA/MCSE)