General Advice

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Wasted Little DJ, Nov 28, 2007.

1. Wasted Little DJ

Wasted Little DJ New Member

Hello everyone!

The position I am in is that I am in the process of performing a change of career! I did a management degree at uni and currently work in account management which I am not happy doing to be honest. I have decided that 2008 is going to be the year of less talk and more action! I have a few questions and would be very grateful if anyone could help out.

I gather there are alot of 'money grabbing' companies out there wishing to take your cash for a poor service in relation to the certification process, any to avoid?

I read in another forum about the self learning thing, I was originally going to do the MCDST but am now considering the A+ certificate first but just doing so off my own back. I quite fancy the MCDST in the 14 day classroom enviroment and was planning on going straight into this, would it be advisable to go for the A+ first?

How easy is it to gain an entry level position with little/no experience? I am very driven to achieve a career move into IT but you can't put a price on experience unfortunately. Will these courses stand me in good stead when it comes to applying for jobs etc?

Lastly, how long will the A+ take if I was just to go down the self learning route?

Thanks to everyone that replies as I know you must get these questions/situations all the time!

P.S My computer knowledge is adequate, very comfortable using them but just never had the chance or opportunity to perform anything in depth.

Thanks guys!

Certifications: HNC Networking
    WIP: HND Networking, A+, N+, CCNA
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Welcome!