Forum Handle

Discussion in 'The Lounge - Off Topic' started by tripwire45, Feb 9, 2005.

1. tripwire45
    Honorary Member

tripwire45 Zettabyte Poster

A "handle" is another word for the name you chose when you signed up as a member of CF. We all choose handles because they have some sort of meaning to us. I know there's a thread running around here on this topic but it's been buried somewhere. Rather than search for it, I thought I'd be lazy and just start another one and this time pin it up top so everyone could always see it.

"tripwire45" comes from a couple of sources. I was creating a yahoo email account and considering registering for a forum (not this one). I was a total discussion forum newbie and noticed that everyone else had a "cool" alter ego name. I needed to come up with one and started thinking (this sounds pretty lame, I know).

I was in school at that time (third time around) and was looking for free stuff on the Internet. A group called Tripwire was giving away a free poster on port vulnerabilities and I was (and still am) heavily into free. I signed up for the thing.

At about the same time, my instructor introduced me to the "adventures" of BOFH at www.theregister.co.uk. I'd just read one of the stories that involved our "bastard operator from hell" using a cat 5 cable as a tripwire (I'm sure you can see where I'm going with this).

I tried creating my yahoo mail account with the name "tripwire". It sounded pretty kewl and butch and I liked it. Wrong! Some bozo already had an account with that name. Yahoo suggeseted I add some numbers to "tripwire" but I needed to figure out which ones. Cat 5 cable came to mind. What goes with Cat 5 cable but an RJ45 connector. I merged the two and tripwire45 was born.

Now how about you?

EDIT: Oops. :oops: Apparently, I need mod powers to pin this thread and I'm not a mod of this forum. Assistance please. :)

Certifications: A+ and Network+
  2. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster