Force logoff remotely?

Discussion in 'Networks' started by Baba O'Riley, Jan 5, 2006.

1. Baba O'Riley

Baba O'Riley Gigabyte Poster

I did this the other day and now can't remember how so I hope one of you guys knows :unsure .

If a user is logged on to an XP Pro machine locally, and I log on remotely as an Admin, I want to be able to force the local user to log off. I'm sure I changed something in GPEdit.msc but I can't find where.

Thanks in advance. :biggrin

Certifications: A+, Network+
    WIP: 70-270
  2. Bluerinse
    Honorary Member

Bluerinse Exabyte Poster

Try going to Task Manager > Users tab and click the user account, then click Logoff.

Not using XP at the mo, so can't clarify if this is correct :rolleyes:

Certifications: C&G Electronics - MCSA (W2K) MCSE (W2K)
  3. Baba O'Riley

Sorry, I didn't really explain myself properly.

If I connect to a machine with Remote Desktop and the machine is logged onto a local account, I get a message along the lines of "Cannot log you on as XXXXXXX is logged on locally". I managed to configure a machine the other day (whether t was the host or remote machine, I'm not sure) so that I instead get the message "Logging onto this machine will end the session of the local user. Do you wish to continue?" or something like that. I just can' remember how I did it.

4. Jakamoko
    Honorary Member

Jakamoko On the move again ...

Baba - that happens automatically when you remote into a PC that another user is already logged into (non-domain scenario here). I use it all the time at home - annoys the hell out of my daughter !! No separate config required :)

Certifications: MCP, A+, Network+
    WIP: Clarity
  5. _omni_

_omni_ Megabyte Poster

i'm not sure. logging on with remote desktop doesn't log the local user off, it just disconnects their session (if i remember well) and locks the computer. which is why they can then type in their password and all their apps will still be open, etc.