First Step On The IT Ladder

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by alsav54, Apr 27, 2008.

1. alsav54

alsav54 New Member

Hi Guys I'am new to the forum.

Is there any good IT training courses out there,I want to get on the first step of the IT ladder but on reading this forum it seems nobody trusts any of IT training companies.:shocked
    Like a lot of people on here most of what I know about computers is self taught but to get a job in IT you need Certificate's, qualification,s or what ever you want to call them.Would appreciate any good advice :idea:

2. supernova

supernova Gigabyte Poster

There are alot of people in this forum that use them. It's true some of them are horrible.

However, there is no point using one if you dont go to there workshops etc ... that's what your paying for.

Also you will still have to use third party study materials and other sources of information along side... I think that goes for anything really.

With regards to job placements and careers advice .... NO company can guarantee a job.

Andi

Certifications: Loads
    WIP: Lots
  3. greenbrucelee
    Highly Decorated Member Award

greenbrucelee Zettabyte Poster

You do not need to do a course or go with a training company to get a qualification.

If most of what you know is self taught then why are you going to stop it? you can just carry on teaching yourself by buying the relevant books and doing the practicle side yourself then take the exams when you are ready.

Certifications: A+, N+, MCDST, Security+, 70-270
    WIP: 70-620 or 70-680?
  4. supernova

A lot of entry level jobs don't require any certification because they include training, true you will need them to progress in the future.

don't forget the ability to self organise, prioritise and be apart of a team is highly important with IT jobs along with a willingness to learn and work hard. These are the qualities that employers look for with entry level jobs.

Andi

5. Fergal1982

Fergal1982 Petabyte Poster