FC vs iSCSI

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Theprof, Apr 21, 2011.

1. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

As the title states I am curious to see your opinions on what SAN types you'd go with?

I realize that the two are different and choosing one over the other is not a simple task these days... We looking into upgrading our existing FC SAN to something like the P4000 which is an iSCSI. Personally I like having HBA's taking away a lot of the CPU work and helping reduce latencies but at the same time if done write iSCSI can have low latencies as well and if done with features like flow control and multipath I/O implemented than we can definitely see great results.

I am no expert by any means... I am just learning as I go but I would be curious to hear from those who work with these technologies on a daily basis think and recommend... In the past I would hear reasoning such as "What's the size of the company, how much and what kind of data are you keeping on the SAN, etc" and based on those types of questions they would make a decision. Today it's different and with lots of competition we can implement a lot of similar stuff with each solution but which is better? I can see that FC would cost more but is it a better solution?

Certifications: A+ | CCA | CCAA | Network+ | MCDST | MCSA | MCP (270, 271, 272, 290, 291) | MCTS (70-662, 70-663) | MCITP:EMA | VCA-DCV/Cloud/WM | VTSP | VCP5-DT | VCP5-DCV
    WIP: VCAP5-DCA/DCD | EMCCA
  2. dales

dales Terabyte Poster

if your looking at getting a p4000 you might want to take a look and the emc vnxe 3100 or 5300 range as well. I'm looking at getting maybe a couple of 5300's for our office (for offsite async DR). seems to be a toss up at the mo between the equals and vnxes for the smb market.

Cant really comment on the difference we I've only ever run iscsi in enviroments with around 10 servers, anything over that and its been FC.