Failed BCMSN

Discussion in 'Routing & Switching' started by conwaya, Feb 16, 2009.

1. conwaya

conwaya New Member

I have just failed the BCMSM exam for the second time and would welcome any ideas to help me pass.

I have been using The Bryant Advantage material along with Train Signal and the Cisco Authorised Self-Study Guide. I also have a home lab with 2950/3550 switches so have been able to get plenty of hands on practice. For exam practice I have been using Transcender and the Bryant Advantage test engine.

On the first test I got 683 and the second one 680 so seem to be going backwards and trying to review where I'm going wrong. I have been working in IT for 10 years although it has mostly been on the server support side - I realise this has some impact on the amount of study that I may require.

I have dedicated many hours to studying and taking practice tests and thought I had good understanding of most topics. I was getting high scores on the Bryant Advantage and Transcender tests. Yet on both exams I seem to come against some areas not covered in Chris's notes. I also had some problems with the simulation questions - I really need more practice with these types of questions.

The Transcender practice tests don't have any simulation questions and once you go through the preset exam questions a few times it loses its ability to test you. Does anyone know of any better test exam software or other BCMSN Study Guides?

2. GiddyG

GiddyG Terabyte Poster Gold Member

Have you checked to see if Boson do a Sim for the BCMSN?

3. -Mercury-

-Mercury- Byte Poster

One suggestion would be to print out the official exam objectives from the Cisco website and to tick them all off when you feel comfortable with that task.

Any weak areas, do extra study on the web to fill in any gaps in your knowledge.

Is all your study material up to date?

Mercury

Certifications: MCSA|MCDST|A+|Net+
    WIP: CCENT
  4. BosonMichael