external tv capture card

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mallet, Sep 6, 2007.

1. mallet

mallet Kilobyte Poster

I am currently looking out for a external USB TV capture card that will be used for my video games website project :)
    The only problem is, I dont have a PC but a Laptop and I cant buy a PC because I have no space to put it yet :(

The tv capture usb will be used to capture images and movies from external devices like a PS2.

It probably have to be a USB external TV card because its a laptop.

I did find two external tv capture devices:
    http://www.scan.co.uk/Products/ProductInfo.asp?WebProductID=117468&ShowTab=5#SimilarProducts

http://www.cluboverclocker.com/reviews/video/Avermedia/AverTV_MCE/p4.htm

I am really new to this and haven't a clue which one I should get and what I should I be looking out for in terms of specs wise and whether the quality of the movies will look good.

-Mallet

Certifications: MCP
  2. hbroomhall

hbroomhall Petabyte Poster Gold Member

First - and most important - does your laptop support USB2?

Without that you won't get any sort of quality stuff at all.

The second link is for an American unit. This won't work in the UK - you will need to check if a PALTV version exists.

The quality you get will depend on just how close to the standard the signals you feed it are, as well as the capture unit itself.

Harry.

Certifications: ECDL A+ Network+ i-Net+
    WIP: Server+
  3. mallet

mallet Kilobyte Poster

yep it supports usb 2.0

The one thats on that link is somewhat old model from what I been told by aver uk.
    They gave me this link instead:
    http://www.mediaatlantic.com/product.php?xProd=102650

its a shrink down version of that AVerTV USB MCE.
    Iam really surprised its got all the inputs on the side of the usb :blink

-Mallet

4. twizzle

twizzle Gigabyte Poster

Mallet,