Experienced but no certs

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by Kopite, Oct 22, 2007.

1. Kopite

Kopite New Member

Hi everyone, just found this forum and it looks like exactly what I've been looking for - a place to come and share information, have a laugh and hopefully get some help on my way to gaining some certs.

First, i suppose I should give you some info about me. I'm 27 and have 8 years experience within the IT sector. I have 7 years experience as a 1st line local support - supporting desktops, servers, networks, software etc in a large corporate environment. I then moved on to a 2nd line support role for servers - mainly Windows 2000 and Novell. I did this for 6 months and then just as I was learning loads, the role got outsourced! I am now working as a 2nd line support analyst, working on a public sector account supporting business specific software operating on an SQL 2000 platform.

I dont particularly enjoy doing this (as the software is very specific to the account) and want to go back to working within a server / network environment - specifically Windows Server and Exchange Server. However it appears most jobs that i have looked at require at least 1 MCP, so that is what i am aiming to achieve with a long term goal of the MCSE (although that will be a few years down the line).

I havent done any certifications before although I have studied for an open university course so i am used to self study. I know most of you advise to do the A+ and N+ first but to be honest I want to get stuck into an MCP - more specifically the 70-290.

I have a couple of spare PC's, 1 of which i was hoping to install Windows Server 2003 onto. However i am now looking at using VMware. My PC's spec is as follows:
    AMD Athlon 3200+
    1GB RAM
    160GB HDD
    256MB Graphics Card