Exchange 2007

Discussion in 'Software' started by BrizoH, May 31, 2007.

1. BrizoH

BrizoH Byte Poster

Is anyone running Exchange 2007 yet?

I'm just beginning to look into migrating my company from it's current hosted Exchange/Blackerry service to an internally managed service, and would appreciate any feedback on my design.

We have approx 80 users, but I'd like to design a solution that will scale to at least around 250 to allow for growth over the next 2-3 years.

We have 3 offices in separate locations (Single AD domain with 3 sites) all connected via VPN over 2Mb circuits.

Ideally I'd like replicated servers in at least two locations to allow for any outages, but due to budget constraints that might not be possible at least initally.

Option 1 - Single Exchange Server at Site A

Single server running Exchange Enterprise (Hub Transport, Client Access and Mailbox roles) and Blackberry Enterprise Server
    Dell Poweredge 2950
    2 x Dual Core Xeon 5130 2Ghz 4MB Cache
    8Gb RAM
    OS Partition - 2 x 73Gb Hard Drived Raid 1
    Data Partition - 3 x 146Gb HDD Raid 5

Option 2 - Redundant Server (Budget permitting)

Option 1 plus Second Server (similar spec) at Site B running Exchange, Blackberry and either WANSyncHA or Neverfail for Blackberry and Exchange

I'm not fully up to speed yet with 2007, so any feedback would be appreciated.

Cheers

Brian

Certifications: CCNA, CCNA Security
    WIP: CCNP
  2. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Make sure you're running a 64-bit version of Windows Server 2003.

I'm not using Exchange '07, so I'm not well-qualified to spec out what's required. That said, it looks like the server you spec'ed out should handle it.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  3. Kitkatninja