Exam Path?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Angry Dog, Oct 13, 2009.

1. Angry Dog

Angry Dog Nibble Poster

I guess the logical steps would be;

A+, N+, MCDST, and then;

70-270 / 70-620 / 70-680?

I know I ask alot of questions, I'm just looking at getting some kind of practical "path", with the skills and experience that I have, so that I have set goals, something to aim for etc!

Thanks for your patience!

Certifications: IT NVQ level 2/3
    WIP: MCDST, A+, N+
  2. Josiahb

Josiahb Gigabyte Poster

A+ N+ MCDST definitely, from there on in I think there is a greater degree of flexibility depending on what your working with/towards. I could be wrong though :P

Certifications: A+, Network+, MCDST, ACA – Mac Integration 10.10
  3. Angry Dog

Angry Dog Nibble Poster

Im sticking with what I know for now - Help Desk Technician.

I have 11 years experience in that role, so I'm playing to my strengths..

4. BosonMichael
    Honorary Member Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

BosonMichael Yottabyte Poster

Yep... A+, Network+, MCDST... perhaps pursue the MCITP: DST... then wait to go any farther until you start touching servers.

Certifications: CISSP, MCSE+I, MCSE: Security, MCSE: Messaging, MCDST, MCDBA, MCTS, OCP, CCNP, CCDP, CCNA Security, CCNA Voice, CNE, SCSA, Security+, Linux+, Server+, Network+, A+
    WIP: Just about everything!
  5. Angry Dog

Angry Dog Nibble Poster

So you dont suggest I do the 70-270 or 70-680 then Michael?

Thanks for your reply :)

6. BosonMichael

I found the 70-270 to be slightly above the level of 70-620. That said, if you're routinely working with XP machines in a domain environment, the 70-270 would be OK to take.

As I haven't taken 70-680, I can't speak as to whether it's worthwhile to pursue at this point. That said, it's a new exam on a new OS. Companies aren't going to rush right out and install Windows 7, so I'd recommend leaving it on the table for that reason... at least, for the moment.