Electrical Engineer

Discussion in 'New Members Introduction' started by njengal, Dec 27, 2007.

1. njengal

njengal New Member

Hi Guys
    I posted this message yesterday , but i didn't have any reply, probably i didn't make myself clear on the question. what it is i did national diplame in computer engineering and CCNA a few years ago but never work in IT, am working as a electrical engineer-design but i will like to work in IT department or field, i was intending to start MCSE but i am not sure if is the right direction, please advice

(Just join this forum which i wish i knew before that it existed, merry xmas and happy new year everybody. anyway i am stack, at the moment i am an technical designer-electrical, where i very bored using autocad all the time and arguing with Engineers above me, the pay is not good at all.

I have done a CCNA course 1-4 but i didn't pass the industrial exam and i did pass it could have expired anyway. i will like to change my career to network engineer or something in IT can you advice the best root and the best way to go, while i am still working.)

Certifications: Eletrical/Electronics Engineering HND
  2. Theprof

Theprof Petabyte Poster

Welcome to CF!

Just like you I am new to this field. I only started last year in August my first IT job. What I believe is that it is important that you grasp the basic understanding of what ever field in IT you wish to pursue. With that said I noticed that you are interested in MCSE so am I. However you will have to start with very basic certifications such as A+, Network+ and then later on MCP or MCDST. MCSE is more for network administrators as they have a lot of experience under their belt hence the the name Microsoft Certified System Engineer. It's not intended for someone who just starting out in IT.