ECDL....is it worth it?

Discussion in 'Training & Development' started by Jaron78, Jan 10, 2010.

1. Jaron78

Jaron78 Gigabyte Poster Forum Leader

Hi All,

OK, after being made redundant in November, I signed up to some free courses at my local Uni. One of them was European Computer Driving License.

Now this has caused a few issues at home lol. I'm looking to do the course as its a Monday and Tuesday evening, 3 hours a night (6:30pm till 9:30pm). I have been working with computers and the like for the last 15 years or so, so I am pretty much Ok with them.

My Fiancee feels the ECDL qualification isn't worth it and I should look for a full time job. I however, would like to gain the qualification. Now my question to you is, A: is it worth it, B: does it have any relevance, and C: can the exam be done as a self study?

Many thanks for your help,

Regards,

Ron

2. Sparky
    Highly Decorated Member Award 500 Likes Award

Sparky Zettabyte Poster Moderator

What kinda job are you looking for mate?

Certifications: MSc MCSE MCSA:M MCSA:S MCITP:EA MCTS(x5) MS-900 AZ-900 Security+ Network+ A+
    WIP: Microsoft Certs
  3. Jaron78

At the moment, looking at two options.
    I am looking to gain MCDST certification, then from there Im looking at either CIW or Cisco Engineer.

CIW as my fiancee has already taken the course via CT so I have all the books to hand, then again, Cisco Engineer as it pays well and I can learn via college :)

Cheers

4. GiddyG

GiddyG Terabyte Poster Gold Member

Given that you're already studying for your MCDST, according to your WIP, I would suggest no. Instead, I'd be looking to throw myself into that. Indeed, I'd probably be looking to study CompTIA A+ and Network+ prior to going for the MCDST.

If you're clued up on MS Office, and you want certs to show that, then you may want to look at MOS or MCAS depending on whether you want to certify in Office 2003 or Office 2007.

5. GiddyG